FIRST BOOK TAG!!!!!!

I am proud to present my very first book tag (*squeals*). This book tag was created by Ariel Bisset. This book tag targets scenarios where you must sacrifice a book or book series. Let’s do this! (side note: just after typing this I went back and realized this is my longest post, so shout out to me for writing almost 1,000 words having nothing to do with school or work, congrats me)

  1. An Over-Hyped Book: Let’s start off with a Zombie Apocalypse! We’ll say you’re in a book store, just browsing, when BAM! ZOMBIE ATTACK. An announcement comes over the PA System saying that the military has discovered that the zombies’ only weakness is over-hyped books. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you really hate do you start chucking at the zombies knowing that it will count as an over-hyped book and successfully wipe them out?

I hate to start off on a negative question, but my answer would have to be Divergent by Veronica Roth. I just really hate the way she writes. In my opinion, she is a rather lazy author….people who read the entire series until the very end will understand why. I don’t hate Veronica, but the Divergent series has made me not want to continue with any of her writing in the future.

2. A Sequel: Let’s say you’ve just left the salon with a SMASHING new haircut 🙂 and BOOM: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Now starting to see that this is probably just going to be one of those opportunities to rant about disliked books and get a free pass….ok……no big deal…. My answer to this scenario would be New Moon by Stephanie Meyers. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the Twilight series (Haters gonna hate. Get off my blog if you have a problem), but that being said I still dislike the action of a certain character -I mean you, Edward Cullen- This book really made me question my likeness for a certain character…..or most characters…….you know what? probably almost all of the characters…and I really think that the book series could have gone without this book. So let it rain.

3. A Classic: Let’s say you’re in a lecture and your English teacher is going on and on about how this classic changed the world, how it revolutionized literature and you get so sick of it that you chuck the classic right at your teacher’s face because you know what? This classic is stupid and it’s worth detention just to show everyone how you feel! What classic did you throw at your teacher?

For those people who have been in my English class for last two years, you UNDERSTAND this scenario, So I’m going to throw two books. One for each year. I choose Julius Caesar by Shakespeare and A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. A Christmas Carol can go first.

This book at first was ok. It wasn’t super great for me, but I feel that’s because I read it at a bad time in my life and was forced to just deal with it. BUT then it was talked about over and over about how it changed the world and how wonderful the author was. WRONG. I don’t have a problem with the style of writing that was used. I don’t have a problem with Charles Dickens, but I DO have a problem with the lead of the book, Scrooge. I have never HATED a character as much as him. I get the fact that he was only mean because he didn’t have anybody but COME ON! It took him an entire book to get to being a decent human being. Get the stick out and grow up, and quit irritating people.

And for Julius Caesar characters, quit acting like popular high school, catty girls and grow the heck up. I don’t hate this book, but the plot and characters bore and irritate me, but that’s probably just me wanting to read other books instead of this depressing one, but it’s a classic that I’d throw.

And let’s conclude with number 4:

4. Your least favorite book of your entire Life: Let’s say that you’re hanging out at the library when BAM! global warming explodes and the world outside becomes a frozen wasteland. You’re trapped and your only chance for survival is to burn a book. What is the book you run to, your least favorite book of all times, what book do you not fully regret lighting?

I don’t have very many ‘least favorite books’, but the one I’d have to choose for this scenario is…….drawing up a blank…..trying to brainstorm least favorite book ideas…..I can’t…..SO…… I’m going to change this tag. I’m am going to throw my favorite series into the chaos and because of it’s greatness, it will make the world great again (please no Trump jokes here. Let’s have some respect). I would throw the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. This series has a rating- at least on my scale- of a 10/10. The characters are amazing and the plot is fantastic. There’s action, humor (lots and lots of humor, especially from Simon and Jace), loyalties, betrayal, love, hate, you name it and it’s probably included in the series. I have a book review for the first book on my blog already so if you’re interested please go check it out.

I hope you all enjoyed, sorry not sorry for my book ranting, it was fun doing this book tag, I hope to make more in the near future. Love my viewers, your support is everything, have a great Monday…or Tuesday…Or Wednesday…or- you get the picture…..

Happy Readings!

-Mads

P.S (Pretty sure there is always a PS with me, but…….) if you haven’t watch Teen Wolf, I’m on Season 3 part 2 and it’s freaking amazing. You should all go watch it. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

